Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.

9 rasas : the yoga of nine emotions


If you want to be happy, stop being unhappy

It is really as simple as that, provided you learn to achieve more control over your emotions or rasas. That is a matter of understanding as well as excercise.

The nine Rasas are the essential aspects or energies that define a set of emotions and moods that thus belong to the same "family" or Rasa. While the nine Rasas themselves are clearly defined energies affecting body and mind, the resulting emotions (Bhavas) manifest in many varieties and their understanding is affected by personal and cultural backgrounds. Knowing the nine Rasas helps us understand why a certain mood comes and stays even though it's original cause may be long gone and how to use that knowledge in achieving more emotional control.

Rasa Sadhana is an ancient Tantric tradition of emotional fasting. We promise ourself that for a day or a week or longer we will not get involved with one of the less desirable Rasas or will fully focus on one of the more agreeable Rasas. When doing Sadhana of Anger for example, whenever some irritation comes, just remembering our promise not to give in to Anger will create a distance between us and the angry feeling. That is often enough to dissolve the anger and if not, other tricks can be used to help dissolve it. Through such regular exercise, we learn that we really can master our nine Rasas, which rapidly will happen quite effortlessly. In order to perform this Rasa yoga, we need to understand what Rasas are and how each Rasa functions.

The Tantric tradition recognizes nine Rasas that relate to quite clearly defined basic moods or emotions (click the individual Rasas for more details) :

Sanskrit Term

Principal Meaning

Further Meanings & related emotions



Beauty, devotion



Humor, sarcasm



Curiosity, mystery



Calmness, relaxation



Irritation, stress



Pride, confidence



Compassion, pity, sympathy



Anxiety, worry



Depression, self-pity

All desires for ownership, security, enjoyment, recognition, Love, knowledge, enlightenment, etc. are all desires for the happiness that we hope to feel by fulfilling them. We desire the happy feeling to own, to be secure, to be recognized as somebody valuable, to enjoy, to Love, to know. Feeling happy Rasas is all that we ever really desire. Should happiness then not be pursued more directly and durably ? That is the essential objective of Rasa Sadhana. Stop being unhappy and enjoy your happiness in a way that does not lead you back to unhappy Rasas.

Rasa Sadhana is a powerful yoga of our emotions that anybody can learn and teach. It may not bring enlightenment, but gets us quite a bit closer to happiness. It is a Wonderfully simple kind of magic. Rasas fasting can be easily integrated with other yoga paths and spiritual rituals to the benefit of both. Art and drama also have an important role to play in the communication of the nine Rasas on a feeling level. In case of emergencies, here are some tips for dissolving a bad mood.

The above texts were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.

See the full introduction on the Nine Rasas in this free online teaching video :


An Interview with Peter Marchand
on the subject of Rasas was
published in the Integral Yoga Magazine
- Issue Winter 2008.

You can also read it here :

p.1 - p.2 - p.3.



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind - Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa