Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.

the sadness rasa : karuna rasa

Bliss is our true nature - Sadness is not.

"Lakshman is Wounded"
by Harish Johari

(Click the picture for a larger image)

When we feel sad for all who do not see through this illusion of suffering, for the ignorance created by maya, then we experience the highest form of Karuna, which is Compassion. Read more about Compassion.

While the highest Karuna is Compassion, the original Sanskrit word karuna means "Sadness". This more popular meaning of the Karuna Rasa finds expression in many kinds of art, literature, and theatre in India. Sadness is a feeling that comes when we have to let go of attachments. In pity, we forget that other people's problems are essentially the same as our own.

Mastering Sadness

Mastering Karuna means to convert our more self-centered Sadness into genuine Compassion for our ignorance and the ignorance of others.

To directly counter any Sadness, one must first understand that Sadness may come but goes just as well. In adolescents, periods of Sadness may come when one feels neglected and tries to produce pity in others. Loneliness in general is a main cause of Karuna.

When one gets older, a Sadness may come because of waning strength and Beauty, of achievements becoming meaningless. If one accepts whatever goes and finds meaning in all that is still left, then there is no problem.

The same goes for the Karuna or Sadness that may come when nearing death. If one believes that the end is near, then obviously Sadness will come. If one believes in eternity, then one can still enjoy everything around as a beautiful life in progress.

Sadness Sadhana : see Rasa Sadhana .

Karuna Rasa Chart

Basic Rasa : Sadness

Sub-Rasas : Pity, Compassion

Dominant Element : Water

Dominant Dosha : Kapha

Dominant Guna : Rajas

Dominant Kosha : Ego

Friendly Rasas : Peace

Enemy Rasas : Joy, Love

Neutral Rasas : Disgust, Wonder, Anger, Fear, Courage

Rasa Produced : Sadness

Key for Mastering : Kindly embrace both truth and ignorance

Siddhi : Mahima (mightiness)

Deity : Varuna

The above texts on the Karuna Rasa were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind - Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa