Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.

the peace rasa : shanta rasa

Real peace comes in meditation
to the one who is free of debt and desire.

"AUM in the Himalayas"
by Pieter Weltevrede

(Click the picture for a larger image)

Although everybody experiences some relaxation sometimes, real Shanta or Peace exists only in samadhi, a state of super-consciousness that is the final stage of any yoga. For true Peace, body, mind, ego, and intellect must become perfectly still.

For a long time, Shanta was not even regarded as a Rasa by the Indian tradition because it is without emotion, ni-rasa.

Everybody longs for real peace of mind, some calmness, though only a few saints really attain it. Today, many people regard saints as people who are simply doing nothing. What they do not understand is how difficult and rewarding doing nothing really is.

Mastering Peace

Even if we feel that we are not enlightened, we can always give it our best shot. The main way to induce Peace is through meditation practices, combined with keeping a balance between needs and desires.

This is supported by following one's dharma, the code of conduct that best suits one's place in society and one's path to liberation. Following one's dharma first of all means to pay one's debts. The Indian tradition categorizes these debts into three kinds: debts to ancestors (paid by raising children), debts to the universe (through selfless service), and debts to the teacher (through teaching).

Another aspect of following dharma is to fulfill those desires that bring one to a higher state of being. It may be necessary even to fulfill some rather selfish desires in order to feel satisfied. As long as they do not become addictions, this is a very natural process of spiritual evolution in which desires are exhausted through fulfillment.

Peace Sadhana : see Rasa Sadhana .

Shanta Rasa Chart

Basic Rasa : Peace

Sub-Rasas : Calmness, Rest, Exhaustion

Dominant Element : Air

Dominant Dosha : Vata

Dominant Guna : Sattva

Dominant Kosha : Chitta (Anandamayi Kosha)

Friendly Rasas : Sadness

Enemy Rasas : Anger, Love, Joy, Fear, Courage

Neutral Rasas : Disgust, Wonder

Rasa produced : Sadness as Compassion

Key for mastering : Meditate and pay your debts while reducing needs to a minimum

Siddhi : Anima (atomicity)

Deity : Vishnu

The above texts were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind - Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa