Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.


In the study of body-mind relationships, modern
science is centuries behind but rapidly gaining speed.

"Shiva and Shakti, the Hollow Cave and the Third Eye in the Brain"
by Harish Johari and Heidi Rauhut.

(Click the picture for a larger image)

The main task of nerve cells is to transfer messages as electric pulses to other nerve cells in our brain and body, using channels called dendrites and neurites. These are extremely thin, thread-like "branches" that connect every nerve cell to other nerve cells. Between them there are spaces known as synapses, which are filled with the cerebrospinal fluid in which all brain tissue is embedded. The electric pulse that is sent from one nerve cell to another does not simply flow through this fluid. The transfer of the information in the electric pulse happens with the help of molecules in the cerebrospinal fluid called neurotransmitters. These neurotransmitters absorb and pass on the information.

Neurotransmitters are also essential in the transfer of information from nerve cells to other body cells and vice versa. To read the information contained in these neurotransmitters, all body cells have "receptor molecules," attached like long antenna to the outside of their cellular bodies. Neurotransmitters, receptor molecules, and substances that affect them are today grouped as "information molecules."

Information molecules are the main body-mind link discovered by western science and the physical equivalent of Rasas.

The above texts were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind - Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa