Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.

the joy rasa : hasya rasa

Tickle and tease each other
in remaining aware of truth.

"Radha and Krishna Changing Clothes"
by Pieter Weltevrede

(Click the picture for a larger image)

Hasya is the Rasa of Joy, with Humor as it's most common expression. The favorite subject of Humor or Hasya is Maya, the illusionary aspect of the universe, the eternal play of opposites that is never the ultimate truth but merely a reflection of truth.

The minute the intellect starts intervening, real Humor is impossible. Then innocent laughter becomes satire or sarcasm.

It is, however, not an event or an act that creates the purest Hasya. Pure Hasya is real happiness, a Joy that comes from within for no apparent reason. It may come when we feel that God or life is kind. This Hasya Joy is a divine Rasa, an expression of divine bliss.

Humor is a very powerful tool against Sadness, Fear, and Anger. Always remember the very powerful mantra that solves any problem:


Mastering Joy

While Joy and Humor can be consciously inhibited, we cannot consciously produce laughter. Hasya depends not so much on the occasion, but on the presence of the energy of Joy in the body. Natural joy is the reward for seeing the beauty and miracle of life.

All one can do to increase the occurrence of Hasya in life is to love life and others, release tensions, maintain a healthy body and attitude to life, and be uninhibitedly open to laughter when it comes.

Laughter is highly infectious, so if we can make one person laugh, others will easily follow. The best way to produce Hasya in oneself is to create it in others.

Joy Sadhana : see Rasa Sadhana .

Hasya Rasa Chart

Basic Rasa : Joy

Sub-Rasas : Humor, Satire, Sarcasm

Dominant Element : Fire

Dominant Dosha : Pitta

Dominant Guna : Rajas

Dominant Kosha : Mind (Manomayi Kosha)

Friendly Rasas : Love, Wonder

Enemy Rasas : Sadness, Disgust, Fear

Neutral Rasas : Peace, Courage, Anger

Rasa Produced : Joy

Key for Mastering : Make others see the beauty of the illusion of life

Siddhi : Vashitva (popularity)

Deity : Little Krishna

The above texts on the Hasya Rasa were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind - Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa