Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.

the fear rasa : bhayanaka rasa

When there is nothing to lose,
there is nothing to Fear.

"The Demon Bali Drove the Gods out of the Heavens"
by Pieter Weltevrede

(Click the picture for a larger image)

Fear is often caused by ignorance. When something is unknown, the mind can only imagine what it can do and if the ego is not confident enough, the mind will only imagine fearful things.

Fear and worries are primarily a game of the ever-exaggerating mind, while the ego suffers from it if it identifies with it. The most powerful Fear is the Fear of death.

As many desires exist, so many Fears may arise. And of course, Fear is our natural protection that keeps us away from harm.

Mastering Fear

Fear can be overcome by inner strength, Love, and truth. When we see only unity in diversity, there is no Fear because there is no ignorance. In truth, there is nothing to be afraid of.

By improving our inner strength, we gain more control over our body, mind, ego, and intellect.

When we look at our past and all the plans we made for it, we come to realize that our planning has really had little impact on what happened. Much more important in the determination of the course of past events have been unforeseeable, unplanned problems as well as opportunities, our karmic destiny. The future will take care of itself, so let us not worry and sacrifice today's happiness because of it.

Fear only really goes when the ego goes, because it is the ego that identifies with the body and its projects and possessions.

Love and friendship can also overcome Fear. In company, we may feel more protected.

Fear Sadhana : see Rasa Sadhana .

Bhayanaka Rasa Chart

Basic Rasa : Fear

Sub-Rasas : Worry, Nervousness, Anxiety, Jealousy

Dominant Element : Air

Dominant Dosha : Vata

Dominant Guna : Tamas

Dominant Kosha : Mind (Manomayi Kosha)

Friendly Rasas : Wonder, Anger

Enemy Rasas : Courage, Peace, Joy, Love

Neutral Rasas : Disgust, Sadness

Rasa Produced : Anger

Key for Mastering : Seek company and truth while doing your duty

Siddhi : Ichcha (omnipotence)

Deity : Yama

The above texts were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind - Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa