Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.


True Compassion aims at bringing enlightenment.

"Shakyammuni Buddha"
by Pieter Weltevrede

(Click the picture for a larger image)

While Sadness is an ingredient of Compassion, true Compassion goes beyond Sadness to an unending kindness that doesn't taste like Sadness at all, in which the Sadness of Sadness evaporates in Love and truth.

True Compassion involves the recognition that the suffering of others (as well as their joy) is also our own. Nobody has any problem that is not related to ignorance and ignorance is the fate of all who are not enlightened. If we can feel sorry for others without feeling any better than them, we may experience the highest Karuna.

True Compassion is without discrimination and can be felt for humans as well as for animals, plants, or enemies. It makes us a kind person, extending loving kindness to every being we meet. This depth of Compassion is beautifully expressed in the story of the saint that lifted a scorpion out of the water to carry it to safety, even though it was stinging him. Both the saint and the scorpion were doing nothing but following their dharma.

Buddha did not feel pity for the suffering of others but for the ignorance that causes suffering and that is why he set himself on the path of self-realization. When becoming enlightened, the one who vows to continue to reincarnate until all beings are enlightened as well is called a Bodhisattva. The Dalai Lama is a good example of this Compassion discipline. Compassion plays a very central role in Buddhism, where the term "Karuna" is much more directly translated as Compassion, rather than Sadness.

Real Compassion is a divine quality that makes a person a real human being. This Karuna polishes our consciousness of the Divine, making it stand out more clearly and beautifully. It is the cause of many spiritual thoughts and ideas and promotes religion very well. The Christian cross is a powerful symbol of Karuna, of suffering out of Compassion for others.

However, the true saint will not forget that the feeling of Compassion is just another illusion and not in itself desirable for one who sees through the illusion of maya. He will always remember that true suffering is caused by ignorance and that true help consists of bringing enlightenment.

The above texts were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind - Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa