Click here for our homepage on Rasas
Learn to achieve control over your emotional patterns, through the ancient Tantric art of Rasa Sadhana.

the anger rasa : raudra rasa

With the help of all divine energies inside,
Anger can be easily defeated.

"Durga Kills the Demon Mahisha"
by Pieter Weltevrede

(Click the picture for a larger image)

When expectations are not fulfilled, the ego may feel that it has been neglected or treated incorrectly; this forms the basis for Anger. Anger can be constructive if it is instructive, such as the Anger of a mother toward her child, a teacher toward a student, a king toward his subjects, a friend toward a friend.

Some people harbor Anger over one particular subject all of their lives. The repetition of angry thoughts can work like a mantra that over time comes to dominate one's entire being. A lot of Anger manifests as irritation - some people are irritated all of the time.

Mastering Anger

It is preferable to express Anger rather than to let it simmer inside. Expressing Anger is one thing, but one should leave the act of punishing up to karma and not create bad karma through it.

If one feels the need to act in the interest of justice and dharma, one should follow the great example given by Mahatma Gandhi. Gandhi demonstrated an Anger that was very constructive. By adhering to satya (truth) and ahimsa (non-violence), Gandhi controlled his Anger at the oppression created by the British Empire; because of it, rather than in spite of it, he helped India to gain home rule.

It is very helpful to realize that Anger only increases the size of any problem. Instead of just having to deal with the practical results of some injustice, getting angry means to lose one's inner peace and happiness. In this way one loses more, just for the sake of righteousness. We may have every right to be angry, but we also have the right not to be stupid.

By practicing detachment from worldly possessions, from the fears and desires of the ego, from the fruits of our actions, Anger goes because expectation goes. Accept, do not expect. Durga killing the demon of Anger called Mahisha symbolizes our ability to kill the demon of Anger inside of us with the help of our good and divine energies, such as forgiveness, acceptance, Calmness, Humor, and so on.

By itself, Anger will not stay for a very long time because of the natural changes in body chemistry. So if we do not feed Anger with our thoughts, it will go all by itself. While changing our mental attitude, we may also remove the biochemical basis for Anger. This consists of consciously cooling down the fire of Anger.

Anger Sadhana : see Rasa Sadhana .

Raudra Rasa Chart

Basic Rasa : Anger

Sub-Rasas : Stress, Irritability, Violence

Dominant Element : Fire

Dominant Dosha :Pitta

Dominant Guna : Rajas

Dominant Kosha : Ego (Vijnanamayi Kosha)

Friendly Rasas : Fear

Enemy Rasas : Joy, Love, Wonder

Neutral Rasas : Peace, Courage, Sadness, Disgust

Rasa Produced : Sadness

Key for Mastering : Resist injustice if needed, but without violence or expectation

Siddhi : Bhukti (enjoyment)

Deity : Rudra

The above texts were extracted from the book "The Yoga of the Nine Emotions", which fully explains these subjects.

See the full introduction on how to stop getting angry in this free online teaching video :



LOVE - Shringara
beauty - devotion
JOY - Hasya
humor - sarcasm
WONDER - Adbhuta
mystery - curiosity
confidence - pride
PEACE - Shanta
relaxation - calmness
SADNESS - Karuna
compassion - pity
ANGER - Raudra
irritation - violence
FEAR - Bhayanaka
anxiety - worry
DISGUST -Vibhatsa
depression - self pity

Gratis yogalessen

The Yoga of Nine Emotions, by Peter Marchand, based on the teachings of Harish Johari
Read more in the book :
"The Yoga of the Nine Emotions"



Emotion in art - Hinduism, Yoga and Religion - Body and Mind Neurotransmitters - Rasa Sadhana - Moodfoods & Emotional Health - Bhakti Yoga - True Compassion - Dissolving a Bad Mood.
Click through to the website of Sanatan Society, founded by the students of Harish Johari
Add this Rasas website to your list of Favorites Send the adress of this web page to a friend Weblog with more news and thoughts on the Rasas Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Classes, workshops and seminars on The Yoga of Rasas Contact the author Peter Marchand Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Click for more details on Peter Marchand and Harish Johari Love - Shringara (Shringar) Rasa Joy - Hasya Rasa Wonder - Adbhuta (Adbhut) Rasa Courage - Veera (Veer) Rasa Peace - Shanta (Shant) Rasa Sadness - Karuna Rasa Anger - Raudra Rasa Fear - Bhayanaka (Bhayanak) Rasa Disgust - Vibhatsa (Vibhatsya) Rasa